• Mad Enough Yet?
  • Belfair
  • Water
  • Waterway
  • Irene’s Supporters
  • Estuary
  • Kayaker
  • Convention

Last Chance to Donate to 35th LD Dems’ Diversity-Equity-Inclusion (DEI) Book Drive

WHAT: 35th LD Democrats will donate non-fiction books addressing D.E.I. topics to the 8 high schools within the 35th LD.

Some of the D.E.I. books for high schools in the 35th LD

We are asking for donations to purchase a couple of copies of 5-6 different books for each high school.  The schools will decide which titles they want.

Some examples of these non-fiction books are:

  • “So You want to Talk About Race?” by Ijeowa Oluo
  • “The Warmth of Other Suns” by Isabel Wilkerson
  • “The State We’re in: Your Guide to State, Tribal and Local Government” by the League of Women Voters
  • “Indian Givers: How the Indians of the Americas Transformed the World”, non-fiction by Jack Weatherford
  • “Harvest of Empire: A History of Latinos in America” by Juan Gonzales
  • “Facing the Mountain: Japanese American Heroes in WWII”” by Daniel James Brown
  • “Strangers from a Different Shore” by Ronald Takai
  • “You Can Tell Just by Looking and 20 other Myths about LBGT Life and People” by Bronski, Pelligrini and Amico.
  • “Unbroken: 13 Stories Starring Disabled Teens” by Marieke Nijkamp

WHY: Books addressing diversity, equity, and inclusion are in short supply in schools of the 35th LD and are being requested by teachers, superintendents, and students.

WHERE: Our focus is on the eight high schools that have students who live in the 35th LD, to either the school library or teachers engaging this subject.

WHEN: Funds raised by September 15th, 2021, will be used to purchase books for the 2021 school year. We are almost half-way to our goal of raising $2,000 this year. Even small donations will be appreciated!

To Donate to the DEI Book Drivehttps://secure.actblue.com/donate/dei-book-drive

For more information, please contact Donna Branch-Gilby at